North-West Greece

A quick heads-up that I’m currently in the Prespa Lakes area of North-West Greece, exploring the region and its beautiful butterflies. Once I’m back home I’ll do a proper write-up of the trip – along the lines of my report for my trip to Southern Greece in July 2012 – , but I’ve started to post images on my flickr page. To whet your appetites, I’ve been here for 6 days so far have seen 74 species already, including (prob. my favourites so far) Balkan Copper and Blue-spot Hairstreak. Though somewhat off the beaten track (2hrs30 by car from Thessaloniki), the region is greatly recommended for its species, and I’ll also be sending in records to Butterfly Conservation EIG.

BalkanCopperPMnewlargercanvas1200

Leave a Reply

