My Top Ten Macro Photos of the Year – Flora

As the year is drawing to a close, I’m going to post some top tens of my favourite shots of the year, with some notes – partly to remind myself of the fun I’ve had, and the results that can happen when technique, light, and subject all fall perfectly into place, and as a photo-critique exercise, with me trying to decide which shots deserve a place here.

I’m starting with flora.

Hope you enjoy what follows!!

 

 

10. Ophrys episcopalis var. samia

 

OphrysEpiscopalisSamianew1024

 

This species of Bee Orchid is endemic to Samos, which I visited in April.

I was lucky to find this in flower, two days before I left the island; the first flower I saw open: I saw this plant the day before when still in bud, but was glad finally to be able to confirm the ID. This plant was growing right beside the first Orchis sancta in flower I had seen on the island, though many hundreds are now in bud.  (For the photo context, see my ‘About’ page).

This is a nice portrait shot, with a fresh, interesting and rare subject in habitat.  A wider view of the subject was not possible because of the cluttered scrubby habitat which it likes to call home.

 

Livadaki Beach Track, Agia Paraskevi, Samos, Greece

16/04/13

Nikon D3S/200f4micro/cpl

ISO 200 1/25 f/18

Leave a Reply

