Pearls for Dukes (part 1)

After a busy few days I managed to get back to what I’ve grown to love most of all about late spring in the south of England: butterfly-hunting!

Saturday took me to Ivinghoe Beacon in the search of the Duke of Burgundy, a scarce and endangered species in the UK; this time last year I was lucky enough to find a mating pair; with the GPS loaded up with the site info, off I went, about an hour’s drive or so.  Sadly the weather wasn’t that great – I’d hoped for a bit of sun but the overcast skies remained for the afternoon and the temperature was only just above 12 degrees C.  So not very surprising that I didn’t see any; however, the season is running a week or so later than last year because of our prolonged winter, so I may have the chance for a return visit.  I was eager not to leave without any shots at all, so I came away with a few shots of flies: not at all an acceptable substitute really, but at least the shots are technically reasonable.  No idea of the species, but relatively common since I’ve seen them quite often.

FlyIvinghoeBeacon1200

Ivinghoe Beacon, Buckinghamshire
18/05/13
Nikon D3S/200f4micro/cpl/SB600+softbox
ISO 1600 1/250 f/18
Handheld

Leave a Reply

