Ophrys reinholdii

Ophrysreinholdii31024NF

Tsourlei area, Northern Central Samos, Greece
09/04/13
Nikon D3S/200f4micro/cpl
Silver reflector
ISO 200 1/6 f/22
Crop from full frame

A gorgeous little purple and cream teddy-bear of an orchid!

This great species was one of the reasons I highlighted Samos as a place to look for orchids, once I had some site information.  That I found this species on the second day of my trip meant that  I could then focus on other things.  I did look for it later on in another possible site, but didn’t find any, so I think its Samos distribution must be pretty limited.

The Tsourlei area south-east of Karlovasi is best reached via the road/track up from Potami Bay, rather than via the small villages to the south. These are very small with very narrow roads, and the tracks are also tricky to negotiate. The way up from Potami is steep but the track is better.

Leave a Reply

